Stageworks Staff

Karla Hartley
Karla HartleyProducing Artistic Director
Karla Hartley is currently the Producing Artistic Director for Stageworks Theatre in the Channel District. She received a BFA in Theater Studies from Boston University in 1992 and is the owner of three Theatre Tampa Bay awards for Best Director.

She was named Best Director 2009, 2012, 2014 and 2015 in the Creative Loafing Best of the Bay Awards as well as The Artist Most Likely to Have Been Born On the Planet Krypton.

Oreli B. Uzdavinis Nazario
Oreli B. Uzdavinis NazarioAudience Services Manager
Orelí B. Uzdavinis Nazario is from Puerto Rico. She graduated from the University of Puerto Rico- Mayagüez Campus, class of 2016. She is currently a student at The University of Tampa pursuing her M.B.A. with a concentration in Nonprofit Management. Before joining the Stageworks Theatre Team, she participated in the Culturepreneur Internship Program of Tampa Bay Business for Culture and the Arts.
Dawn Truax
Dawn TruaxDirector of Education Outreach
Dawn Truax, Director of Education Outreach for Stageworks Theatre since 2001, she has been teaching and administering workshops to at risk and juvenile justice youth for 15 years including Stageworks’ YEA Anger Management Program, Civil Rights Ambassador Program and Anti-gang program. She created, administered and taught a-first-of- its-kind in Hillsborough County program that uses drama to teach anger management and conflict resolution to at-risk and juvenile justice youth. She has also created performance based programs to teach gang prevention to at risk children and assertiveness training to at risk and juvenile justice girls. She is currently developing a workforce skills education program that addresses the needs of foster care youth in obtaining and keeping jobs. Dawn is also a professional actress who has performed at numerous venues in the Tampa Bay area, including Stageworks.
Alvon Griffin
Alvon GriffinTeaching Artist & Coach
Alvon Griffin has served as an Artist/Coach and percussion teacher for several professional educational outreach programs. Alvon has taught percussion for more than 20 years, using his own “Math Music” program to convey concepts of rhythm via mathematics to a wide array of at risk and underserved young people, including involuntarily committed girls, developmentally challenged adults and juvenile Justice youth. He has created and taught performance based behavior modification and substance abuse programs at PACE, LEAF, Bowling Green, Umatilla, New Beginnings, Youth Arts Corps, and Leslie Peters Half Way House where he uses drumming as a tool to teach anger management. He has taught as a Master Teacher of percussion at the University of South Florida, the University of Central Florida, the University of the University of Central Florida, the University of San Francisco, and the University of Tampa and has performed as a percussionist at varied and numerous venues such as Florida Capital Building and Disney World. He is also an expert in Brazilian Batucada drumming and Native American culture and hosts the Two World Indigenous Radio show on WMNF.

Board of Directors

Simone Barefield
Board President
sbarefield@stageworkstheatre.org

Anna Brennen
Founder
abrennen@stageworkstheatre.org

Stephanie Gilmore Brown
Director of Program and Property Services
Tampa Housing Authority
sgbrown@stageworkstheatre.org

David Carmena
David Carmena and Associates
dcarmena@stageworkstheatre.org

Kari Goetz
Tampa International Airport
kgoetz@stageworkstheatre.org

Santosh Govindaraju
Convergent CapitalPartners
sgovindaraju@stageworkstheatre.org

Lyra Blizzard Logan
Attorney
Florida Education Fund
lblogan@stageworkstheatre.org

Louise A. Kirkorian
Educator, Filmmaker
lakrikorian@stageworkstheatre.org

Kimberly Martin
Business Efficiency Consultant
kmartin@stageworkstheatre.org

Lauren Valiente
Attorney
Foley and Lardner LLP
lvaliente@stageworkstheatre.org

Spiro Verras
Verras Law
Vice President
sverras@stageworkstheatre.org

Stageworks Attorney

Stephen Szabo, III
Foley & Lardner, LLP
sszabo@stageworkstheatre.org